2 Years of Blogging

WordPress informed me that today marks my two year anniversary of starting this blog. I started out with the intention of using it to track the beginning of my life as a librarian. I had just graduated with my MLIS and was deep in the process of job hunting. I couldn’t have imagined then that two short years later I’d already be working in my second library job! I still feel so new and fresh some days, and then I get reminded that it’s been longer than I thought or that I know a lot more than I realize. Starting this new job in a much larger library system has been refreshing and energizing. In my previous job I only got to discuss library issues, learning theories, ideas, etc. when I went to conferences but now I get to do that weekly if not daily. Being here has reminded me why I became a librarian and why I feel so blessed that I am able to do this for a living!

I’d like to use this revived energy to create new professional habits. I’m attempting to become active on Twitter and have set a goal to tweet at least one library related thing per weekday. As I get more comfortable with HootSuite I would like to start scheduling tweets to have a daily presence. I want to do my best to continue blogging regularly. I’m reminded over and over that reflection and self-analysis is an essential part of growth and positive change. In my new job I have the opportunity to go through a promotion process that is very specific in the types of activities in which I should engage to move up the ranks. I feel good about what I’ve done and what I am currently doing, but I know that publishing an article is my next big step. My last habit is to start working on my writing skills. TO support that habit I’ve started doing a few things.

First is simply to do some research into writing professionally, for academia, and for libraries specifically. I have an extensive network of blogs that I read so I’ve been paying more attention to articles that address this skill. Second is to work through the book “Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks: A Guide to Academic Publishing Success” by Wendy Laura Belcher. This title was recommended during a workshop I attended hosted by our library’s Professional Development Research Awards Committee. I just started reading, and although she recommends having something written already I have a pretty strong idea of the first article I want to write and think I can still use the book to my advantage. Finally I signed up for 750 Words today. 750 Words is a website that gives you a private space to write daily. The goal is to write 750 words (about 3 pages) each day. You get points for each day you write. I know that practice is essential to the development of any skill and I think this will be a good way for me to become a better writer.

I wanted to write an entry on the scholarly communications training workshop I attended a few weeks ago, but I know that attention spans are short when it comes to blogs. I hope to get that posted next week before I leave for my first ALA on Friday!

Leave a Reply

