Job Hunting

I’ve noticed within my initial exploration of other cpd23 blogs that many of the participants are currently job searching. I am just beginning this process and it has been somewhat frustrating so far. There is quite a bit of conflicting information on job advice columns on cover letters, resumes, follow up calls, etc. and it sometimes feels overwhelming. I just recently came upon a site called Open Cover Letters that allows you to view cover letters that actually lead to interviews or positions. I was initially scared to read through them because I thought I’d regret the letters I’d sent, but thankfully that didn’t happen. It did help me to change my mindset a bit, and hopefully to write better cover letters in the future. Hopefully this link will benefit other particiapants from cpd23 or other people who stumble upon my blog.

4 thoughts on “Job Hunting

  1. Very useful website, thanks for the link!
    It sounds like you’re on the right track for a digital job, and are proving yourself truly capable through a confident online presence and brand.
    Definitely food for thought for the hesitant like me 🙂

  2. You’re welcome!

    I was definitely skeptical at first about how social media could be used professionally. Before library school I viewed Twitter as more of a popularity contest and didn’t see much value in blogs. During school I had several professors who were adamant about the importance of social media and I’ve slowly begun to realize the many potential benefits of having a social media presence. I was a little embarrassed at first to make a Twitter but now that I’ve been using it for a month I’m starting to feel much more connected and engaged with the library community than I did when I was in school.

  3. I’m job hunting too whilst trying to work on my dissertation for library school. Thanks for sharing the open cover letters link, it looks really useful. You are right, there is so much conflicting advice and everyone says something slightly different which makes it very difficult to know what is ‘right’. Good luck with your job hunt.

Leave a Reply

